Pronounciation: Mull- Lud- Hara

Otherwise known as the root chakra, this the first of the Chakras of Matter or energies based in the physical. This particular energy is located at the base of the spine, by the pelvic floor within the first three vertebrae, and is said to be responsible for our sense of safety and security. The word Muladhara, breaks down into two Sanskrit words; Mula meaning "root" and Adhara which means "support" or "base". The root chakra is commonly comprised of whatever grounds you to the stability within your own personal life. This would include basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety. It also includes your more emotional needs such as fears and your ability or lack thereof of letting them go. When these needs...

Mostly of all us desire a balanced lifestyle: mentally, physically and spiritually. When one of these aspects are out of whack in your life, chances are its due to an imbalance. And believe it or not, oftentimes the remedy lies in realignment of the energy within yourself. 

This month I've decided to do a series on Chakras and getting a better understanding of what they are and the importance they have to each and every one of us. 

So.What is a chakra? The Sanskrit meaning breaks to being a wheel or disk. Speaking in yoga terms the wheel is one comprised of energy set throughout the physical body. There are seven main chakras which align the spine, starting from the base through the crown of the head. Each chakra contains a bundle of nerves a...

Please reload


Yoga isn't just a practice, it's a way of life

Follow Afrochick

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

Phone: 716-906-2393

Email Address: