Divinity is defined as the state of being divine, being of, from or like God. When we rise from a place of our physical selves, certain aspects begin to pass away...fear,ego, selfishness, and others ideas begin to take form. Ideas that exudes positivity, ascension and guides us towards our greatest selves. Once you reach this level, you tap into an energy that is not of this physical world, a place of omnipresence, where there is no beginning or end. 

Sahasrara is the seventh and last chakra of the energy series; even with it being one of the last chakra it is quite possibly one of the most important of the seven primary chakras.  Appropriately named the Crown Chakra, Sahasrara is known to be our source of enlightenment and all that there is. It...

'Watch your mouth and hold your teeth...'. 'There is power in the tongue...'. 'Be careful of how you speak...'. Chances are if you've heard one of these statements in this lifetime. The throat, outside of it being one of the first parts of digestive process, it is our main communicator. It is how most of us express ourselves and relay information. With it's level of significance, the energy that surrounds it is just as important.

The fifth chakra in the energy series, is known as the Throat Chakra and is the first of the three spiritual chakras. With the Sanskrit name, Vishudda, breaking down to mean 'pure' or 'purification', this chakra is related to the element of sound and encompasses the essence of faith and understanding. Through the throat...

Short of the brain, the heart the most vital organ in the human body. It is responsible for supplying oxygen and other nutrients, it's pumps blood throughout the body, and if it stops pumping we cease living. With such importance and significance of heart, it should be obvious that the heart has an energy surrounding it that is just as pertinent.

The fourth chakra is the next point in the chakra energy flow. The Heart Chakra is located in the center of the chest and it governs the heart, cardiac plexus, thymus gland, lungs and the breasts, as well as the lymphatic system. The Sanskrit term for the fourth chakra is Anahata, which breaks down to meaning 'unstruck' or 'unhurt'. The idea behind the implication of it's name is that under of all of the...

When dealing with issues we tend to look at the issue itself opposed to the underlining problem that may lie. For example if you have back issues, you would say to yourself, 'it must have been the way that slept', if you find yourself upset and easily angered, you would say, 'I'm just having a bad week'.  All too quickly dismissing the issue as just happenstance and not looking too much further beyond that. But as we have discovered those physical, emotional and psychological ailments might be alluding to an imbalanced energy.

When it comes to the healing of yourself, we must first look at the energy that we are holding within.

There are a multitude of ways one can use to find balance and release the blockage that they are experiencing....

Pronounciation: Mull- Lud- Hara

Otherwise known as the root chakra, this the first of the Chakras of Matter or energies based in the physical. This particular energy is located at the base of the spine, by the pelvic floor within the first three vertebrae, and is said to be responsible for our sense of safety and security. The word Muladhara, breaks down into two Sanskrit words; Mula meaning "root" and Adhara which means "support" or "base". The root chakra is commonly comprised of whatever grounds you to the stability within your own personal life. This would include basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety. It also includes your more emotional needs such as fears and your ability or lack thereof of letting them go. When these needs...

To find relaxation in discomfort....to have balance in unsteady positions...to become confident in yourself regardless of opposition. These affirmations are essentially the keys to what most would believe to be an ideal life. Yet these very affirmations are also synonymous to the practice of yoga.

I remember when I started doing yoga, a lot of the positions that the instructor placed me in that were meant to relaxing or positions of 'rest' felt worst than the harder positions. The frustrating feeling of not being able to keep my balance for more than a couple seconds at a time. And the sense of doubt in myself when I saw others doing more advanced positions with ease, thinking 'My body will NEVER be able to do that!'. But as I embraced the c...

Please reload


Yoga isn't just a practice, it's a way of life

Follow Afrochick

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

Phone: 716-906-2393

Email Address: afrochickyoga@gmail.com