top of page

Adjust Your Crown (Sahasrara Chakra)

Divinity is defined as the state of being divine, being of, from or like God. When we rise from a place of our physical selves, certain aspects begin to pass away...fear,ego, selfishness, and others ideas begin to take form. Ideas that exudes positivity, ascension and guides us towards our greatest selves. Once you reach this level, you tap into an energy that is not of this physical world, a place of omnipresence, where there is no beginning or end.

Sahasrara is the seventh and last chakra of the energy series; even with it being one of the last chakra it is quite possibly one of the most important of the seven primary chakras. Appropriately named the Crown Chakra, Sahasrara is known to be our source of enlightenment and all that there is. It is a direct connection to what is said to be our higher selves, along with every being on the planet and ultimately that divine energy that created us and everything else in the universe. The seventh chakra is located in the crown area of the skull, precisely four fingers widths above the crown of the head, specifically in the fontanel area of the scalp according to some yogic teachings. This energy resides in the 'plane of truth and reality' and is believed the terminal point for the central energy also known as Sushumna nadi. This energy is primarily linked to the pituitary gland and secondarily the pineal gland and the hypothamalus, which when paired regulate the endocrine system. The Crown Chakra also influences the brain and nervous system, emotionally and mentally it governs your emotions, enlightenment and understanding. The lotus flower represents the Crown Chakra (also referred to as the thousand-petal lotus) and the symbol is comprised of a circle and a thousand violet colored petals, hence the name. This symbol of the lotus flower is often associated with renewal, purity and beauty. The representative color of the Sahasrara is white, although deep purple is also a depicted color of the chakra.

Balance vs. Imbalance

The behavioral and psychological characteristics of the seventh chakra is the awareness of higher consciousness, wisdom and all that is sacred, connection with the formless and the limitless, realization and liberation from limiting patterns, along ecstasy and bliss. When one when is truly immersed in the energy of this chakra, they can experience a state of utmost clarity, enlightened wisdom, pure awareness, and overall blissful union with all that is.

However on the contrary when one's energy is blocked or out of alignment, it can be manifested as closed mindedness, being disconnected from the spirit and constant cynicism towards anything sacred. One can also experience depression, mental fog, chronic fatigue, chronic headaches and migranes, and even become greedy and materialistic emotionally when this chakra has a deficiency. When the chakra is overactive one can deal with neurological or endocrine disorders, be disconnected from their body and all other earthly matters, and live completely in their head, becoming overly obsessive with spiritual matters, having a sense of elitism. It is also said that an unbalanced Crown Chakra could potentially play a role in learning disabilities, sleep disorders, mental illness, and even comas.


Like with all the others in it's energy series, there are a multitude of ways to open and align this chakra. Silence is said to best method to heal the Crown Chakra because it doesn't distract one from a spiritual place. Of course the practice of meditation is also a recommended method of healing, especially for this chakra because of the spiritual connection between meditation and the Crown Chakra. When meditating try to envision a white light pouring over your being or even a violet lotus over the crown of your head, both ways are seen to be beneficial. There are two Pranayama breathing techniques that you can defer to before meditation or just in general, Nadi Shodhana, or alternate nostril breathing, and Kapalabhati, or the skull shining breathing. Yoga poses are also extremely helpful in alignment. Inverted poses such as the Headstand Pose (Salamba Sirsasana) and Downward Facing Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana) can certainly help stimulate the seventh chakra, as well as the Fish Pose (Matsyasana), and any asana that brings the crown of the head to the floor opens up this energy. Chanting, like with the other chakras, is also great for unblocking the Sahasrara; the mantra sound associated the seventh chakra is OM. Lastly but certainly not least, there are certain gems you can meditate with, wear or even have in your environment that can certainly make a difference in your blockage. The amethyst, selenite, and sugilite are said to be the best stones for the opening of the seventh chakra.

In this journey of self love, care and progression, it is important that we take every step; as every step on this trail brings closer to the best version of ourselves. Making sure our internal energy source is in alignment and flowing is just as pertinent as one's physical and nutritional health. When your things are out of whack, when your life seems to be spinning out of control, sometimes hitting the gym doesn't always do the trick. You have to go deep, beyond the muscle, beyond the bones and get to the core. Strengthen your foundation in your Root, understand your emotions in your Sacral, find your personal power in your Solar Plexus, become more compassionate and loving in your Heart, express yourself and speak your highest truth in your Throat, form your imagination and intuition in your Third Eye, and know God or the Higher Power in your Crown. Through this ayurvedic equation you can seem to find completion, self realization and greatness. I encourage you to be great my people.


Afrochick Yogini

#crown #chakra #seventhchakra #sahasrara #OM #meditation #natural #medicine #yoga #pose #energy #strength #healing #balance #imbalance #selflove #blockage #amethyst #selenite #sugilite #gemstones #afrochick #blog

bottom of page